The Arkansas Veterinary Medical Examining Board was created under Act 88 of 1915. The Board consists of five (5) members appointed by the Governor for terms of five (5) years. Four (4) members are veterinarians licensed to practice veterinary medicine in the State of Arkansas and one (1) is a public member. The Board has the power to examine and determine the qualifications and fitness of applicants for a license to practice general veterinary medicine or any specialty area thereof, and certification of veterinary technicians in Arkansas, and issue, renew, deny, suspend or revoke licenses or certificates or otherwise discipline veterinarians or veterinary technicians.

Act 1348 of 1995 authorizes the Board to issue citations and/or assess a civil penalty to any person found guilty of violating the Veterinary Medical Practice Act & Regulations.


The mission of the Arkansas Veterinary Medical Examining Board is to establish and enforce policies to ensure the best possible quality of veterinary services for the people of Arkansas.

AR Veterinary Board
P.O. Box 8505
Little Rock, AR 72215